3D Printing Simulation

Your 3D Print as a digital Finite Element Manufacturing Simulation: Knowing the Result even before you start printing.

FIRST TIME RIGHT
INSTEAD OF TRIAL & ERROR

Thanks to the easy-to-understand simulation of your part in AM-Studio, you can detect deviations from the target state even before printing. This way, when you start your build job, you know exactly what you will hold in your hands after production.

For all those who do not have Time to Fail in Production

Your resources are precious. But the process of your additive component manufacturing involves many risks, some of them wasted. If a print job fails, in the worst-case scenario you start all over again: troubleshooting, adjusting parameters and data preparation consume capacities that you could have invested in new projects already. With a simulation according to the Finite Element Method (FEM), you reduce these risks to a minimum and get the best out of all your resources:

  • Time – Faster than your Competitors

    Every print costs time. By simulating your part, you use every minute effectively instead of wasting it on manufacturing errors. While your competitors are postponing delivery dates due to failed production attempts, you are already planning the next project.

  • Material – Saving Resources for your Company and the Environment

    Every print costs material. With the simulation of your part, you invest every particle of metal powder in components ready to use. If manufacturing turns out not to be within your tolerances, you will know before the print job is started. As a result, the number of misprints drops to a record low – and so does your material consumption per finished part. On top of that, an attempt to save material by using fewer support structures only costs you a few clicks with the simulation embedded in AM-Studio. The simulation tells you exactly whether the planned support structures give your 3D printed part the necessary strength or not.

  • Budget – Lower Costs due to Fewer Misprints

    Every print job costs money. If your part deforms during the printing process, this can lead to the abortion of your build job. The laser stops, the printer shuts down and the valuable capacity of the printer remains without usable results. By simulation, you can identify the areas where severe deformation is. In this way, you can prevent print aborts and make good use of every second of your printing time.

  • Customer Satisfaction – More Planning Reliability for you and your Customers

    Every print job has a deadline. With FEM simulation of your parts, you can accurately predict their quality. And thus its expected completion. This increases the likelihood of delivering on time. An advantage that makes you THE business partner for your target group.

  • Motivation – Successes that make your Team stronger

    Your team grows with its successes. Mistakes are instructive – but also expensive and demotivating. In 3D printing simulation, design mistakes cost just a few clicks. As a result, both novices and experts in additive manufacturing generate results that are accurate to the plan. Thereby, motivation to take on new challenges grows all by itself.

Thought of Everything: Finite Element Simulation in AM-Studio takes all Parameters into Account

You know the requirements your part must withstand in its planned application. The simulation in AM-Studio knows how to test it. According to the Finite Element Method, it takes into account all parameters that can cause a change in the component quality.

  • Thermal

    During printing, the material is exposed to temperature differences of several hundred degrees. The simulation in AM-Studio mimics the thermal changes to the component and shows you where the resulting stresses govern in changed part quality.

  • Support Structures

    Support geometries give your part stability during printing. However, after completing the print and clearing the part from supports and the build platform, it needs to be true to size and stay that way. For this reason, the simulation in AM-Studio can take into account possible effects of the support geometries during printing and after post-processing if required.

  • Preformations

    The clear preview of the printed part shows you exactly how large deformations will. You can check the effects of your calculated predeformations immediately – even before you invest time or material.

Make 3D Printing Simulation an Integral Part of your Processes

AM-Studio makes digital manufacturing simulation of your parts easier than ever before. It is already part of the default data preparation workflow – just run it before executing your build job.

  • Stay in the Flow: No Exports necessary

    In AM-Studio, simulation takes place directly within the system environment of your data preparation. No external simulation software is required. This eliminates the need for additional data exports and imports, eliminating potential sources of data I/O error.

  • All-Inclusive instead of Software Puzzle

    In AM-Studio you use powerful software components without any additional investment. The simulation tool is already included as a standard feature and optimally adapted to your requirements. Get to know AM Studio!

  • Bundled Know-How

    With Finite Element Simulation in AM-Studio, you benefit from the know-how and experience of two experts in additive manufacturing: CADS Additive and Simufact. The simulation software Simufact Additive forms the basis of the simulation tool in AM-Studio. Its results have contributed to the error-free implementation of countless build jobs in the manufacturing industry for many years. To ensure that simulation fits perfectly into your data preparation, the experts at CADS Additive have integrated the tool into the software solution AM-Studio in a user-friendly manner. This way, you benefit from all advantages of both software elements during your data preparation.

    Learn more about the cooperation of CADS Additive and Simufact

The 3D Printing Simulation that Fits your Requirements

Specifically for 3D printing in the Selective Laser Melting process and specifically for your prerequisites: AM-Studio and the integrated simulation tool are compatible with almost any hardware. The software is optimally adapted to 3D printers of numerous manufacturers already. Thanks to the novel Titan build processor, the software is highly performant – even on standard workstations.

3D-Druck Simulation

Ihr 3D-Druck als digitale FEM-Fertigungssimulation: Damit Sie das Ergebnis kennen, noch bevor Sie den Druck starten.

FIRST TIME RIGHT
STATT TRIAL & ERROR

Dank der leicht verständlichen Simulation Ihres Bauteils in AM-Studio erkennen Sie Abweichungen vom Soll-Zustand schon vor dem Druck. So wissen Sie mit dem Start Ihres Baujobs genau, was Sie nach der Fertigung in den Händen halten.

Für alle, die keine Zeit für Fehlversuche in der Bauteilfertigung haben

Ihre Ressourcen sind kostbar. Doch der Prozess Ihrer additiven Bauteilfertigung birgt viele Risiken, einige davon zu verschwenden. Missglückt ein Druckauftrag, beginnen Sie im schlimmsten Fall von vorne: Fehlersuche, Anpassung der Parameter und die Datenvorbereitung verschlingen Kapazitäten, die Sie längst in neue Projekte investieren könnten. Mit einer Simulation nach der Finite Elemente Methode (FEM) vor dem Druck reduzieren Sie diese Risiken auf ein Minimum und holen das Beste aus all Ihren Ressourcen:

  • Zeit – Schneller als Ihr Wettbewerb

    Jeder Druck kostet Zeit. Mit der Simulation Ihres Bauteils nutzen Sie jede Minute effektiv, anstatt sie mit Fehlproduktionen zu verschwenden. Während Ihr Wettbewerb Liefertermine aufgrund missglückter Fertigungsversuche verschiebt, planen Sie bereits das nächste Projekt.

  • Material – Ressourcen schonen für Ihr Unternehmen und die Umwelt

    Jeder Druck verbraucht Material. Mit der Simulation Ihres Bauteils investieren Sie jedes Gramm Metallpulver in Bauteile, die Sie später auch verwenden können. Erfolgt die Fertigung voraussichtlich nicht im Rahmen Ihrer Toleranzen, erkennen Sie das schon vor dem Start des Druckauftrags. Dadurch sinkt die Zahl der Fehldrucke auf einen rekordverdächtigen Tiefststand – und damit auch Ihr Materialverbrauch pro fertigem Bauteil. Gleichzeitig verrät Ihnen die Simulation genau, ob die geplanten Support-Strukturen Ihrem Bauteil den nötigen Halt geben. Ein Versuch, Material durch weniger Support-Strukturen einzusparen, kostet Sie mit der Simulation in AM-Studio nur wenige Klicks.

  • Budget – geringere Kosten durch weniger Druckabbrüche

    Jeder Druckauftrag kostet Geld. Verformt sich Ihr Bauteil bereits während des Druckvorgangs, kann das zum Abbruch Ihres Baujobs führen. Der Laser stoppt, der Drucker fährt herunter und die wertvolle Kapazität des Druckers bleibt ohne nutzbares Ergebnis. Mit einer Simulation erkennen Sie schon vor Druckbeginn, an welchen Stellen starke Deformationen drohen. So verhindern Sie Druckabbrüche und nutzen jede Sekunde Ihrer Druckzeit sinnvoll.

  • Kundenzufriedenheit – mehr Planungssicherheit für Sie und Ihre Kunden

    Jeder Druckauftrag hat eine Deadline. Mit der FEM-Simulation Ihrer Bauteile sagen Sie die Güte Ihres Bauteils zielgenau voraus. Und damit auch dessen voraussichtliche Fertigstellung. Dadurch steigt die Wahrscheinlichkeit, Fertigungsaufträge termintreu liefern zu können. Ein Vorteil, der Sie zum begehrten Ansprechpartner Ihrer Zielgruppe macht.

  • Motivation – Erfolge, die Ihr Team stärker machen

    Ihr Team wächst mit seinen Erfolgen. Fehler sind lehrreich – aber auch teuer und demotivierend. In der 3D-Druck Simulation kosten Fehler bei der Planung lediglich ein paar Klicks. Dadurch generieren sowohl Einsteiger als auch Experten der additiven Fertigung plangenaue Ergebnisse. Die Motivation, neue Herausforderungen anzunehmen, wächst dabei von ganz allein.

An alles gedacht: Die Finite Elemente Simulation in AM-Studio berücksichtigt alle Parameter

Sie wissen, welchen Anforderungen Ihr Bauteil in seiner geplanten Anwendung standhalten muss. Die Simulation in AM-Studio weiß, wie Sie es testen können. Nach der Finite Elemente Methode berücksichtigt sie alle Parameter, die eine Veränderung der Bauteilgüte herbeiführen können.

  • Thermik

    Das Material ist während des Drucks Temperaturunterschieden von mehreren Hundert Grad Celsius ausgesetzt. Die Simulation in AM-Studio berechnet die thermischen Veränderungen für jeden Millimeter des Bauteils und zeigt Ihnen, wo die dadurch entstehenden Spannungen zu Veränderungen der Bauteilgüte führen.

  • Support-Strukturen

    Stützgeometrien geben Ihrem Bauteil während des Drucks Halt. Nachdem Sie es nach der Fertigstellung von den Strukturen und der Grundplatte gelöst haben, muss es jedoch auch ohne Support maßgetreu sein und dies auch bleiben. Deswegen berücksichtigt die Simulation in AM-Studio bei Bedarf auch mögliche Auswirkungen der Stützgeometrien während des Drucks und nach der Nachbehandlung.

  • Vorverformungen

    Anhand der übersichtlichen Vorschau des gedruckten Bauteils erkennen Sie genau, wie groß die Verformungen während und nach dem Druck sein werden. Die Auswirkungen Ihrer errechneten Prädeformationen können Sie somit umgehend prüfen – schon bevor Sie Zeit oder Material investieren.

Machen Sie 3D-Druck Simulation zum festen Bestandteil Ihrer Prozesse

AM-Studio macht Ihnen die digitale Fertigungssimulation Ihrer Bauteile so einfach wie nie zuvor. Da die Simulation schon in die Prozessführung der Datenvorbereitung integriert ist, durchlaufen Sie diese bei Bedarf wie selbstverständlich, bevor Sie den Baujob starten.

  • Bleiben Sie im Flow: Keine Exporte notwendig

    In der Software-Komplettlösung AM-Studio erfolgt die Simulation direkt in der Systemumgebung Ihrer Datenvorbereitung. Es ist keine externe Simulationssoftware notwendig. Dadurch entfallen zusätzliche Datenexporte und -importe, was mögliche daraus resultierende Fehlerquellen von vornherein eliminiert.

  • Alles inklusive statt Software-Puzzle

    In AM-Studio nutzen Sie leistungsstarke Software-Komponenten ganz ohne zusätzliche Investitionen. Das Simulationstool ist als Standardfeature bereits enthalten und optimal auf Ihre Voraussetzungen abgestimmt. Lernen Sie AM-Studio jetzt kennen!

  • Gebündeltes Know-how

    Mit der FEM-Simulation in AM-Studio profitieren Sie vom Know-how und der Erfahrung von zwei Experten in der additiven Fertigung: CADS Additive und Simufact. Die Simulationssoftware Simufact Additive bildet die Basis des Simulationstools in AM-Studio. Ihre Ergebnisse tragen in der Fertigungsindustrie seit vielen Jahren zur fehlerfreien Umsetzung unzähliger Baujobs bei. Damit sich die Simulation perfekt in Ihre Datenvorbereitung einfügt, haben die Experten von CADS Additive das Tool benutzerfreundlich in die Komplettlösung AM-Studio integriert. So nutzen Sie bei Ihrer Datenvorbereitung alle Vorteile beider Software-Bestandteile.

    Mehr zur Kooperation von CADS Additive und Simufact

Die 3D-Druck Simulation, die zu Ihren Voraussetzungen passt

Speziell für den 3D-Druck im SLM-Verfahren und speziell für Ihre Voraussetzungen: AM-Studio und das integrierte Simulationstool sind mit nahezu jeder Hardware kompatibel. Die Software ist bereits optimal auf 3D-Drucker zahlreicher Hersteller abgestimmt. Dank des neuartigen Titan Build Processor ist die Software hochperformant – sogar auf Standard Workstations.